Skip to main navigation.
Report an Outage 1.605.874.2171

Annual Meeting

2020 Annual meeting information.

The 2020 Annual meeting has been rescheduled.  The new date will Thursday, August 27, 2020 from 1 pm to 7 pm at either the H-D headquarters in Clear Lake (18240 SD Highway 15) or the Hayti outpost (NW of the town of Hayti)  

Due to COVID-19 safety concerns this will be a drive thru annual meeting.  You will get an annual meeting report, register for the annual meeting, get a ballot, drop off the ballot and recieve a registration gift all while staying in your car.

All members should get a letter notice of the annual meeting.  Bringing that letter will speed up your registation process.

We know this is an unusual way to conduct an annual meeting, but because of the COVID pandemic we feel it is necessary to keep our members safe.


Board Candidate Profiles (One position per District)


District 3    2 Candidates          District 4      1 Candidate    District 9      2 Candidates

Todd Moritz: Todd and his wife, Angela (Tekrony) Moritz, have two children, Matthew and Emily. The Moritz family live east of Castlewood in Hamlin Township where Todd and family operate a farm/ranch. Todd is currently the board secretary for the Sioux Rural Water System and is on the school board at St. Martins Lutheran School in Watertown, South Dakota where his children attend school. “I look forward to serving the members of H-D Electric and I am committed to keeping our utility strong for future generations.”









Laurie Seefeldt (incumbent) and her husband, David Beyer, raise cattle, sheep, crops and hay on their farm in north central Deuel County near Tunerville. She is a graduate of South Dakota State University. Her professional experiences include stints as a newsperson for a national news service, city editor for a daily newspaper and communications manager for various groups. She also worked in sales for an electronic sign company working with nationally recognized accounts. Laurie’s local activities include past service as a township officer and member of the H-D Electric advisory committee. She completed several NRECA director training courses and earned her NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate. She has served on the H­D Electric board of directors since 2014.



Alvin Kangas (incumbent) and his wife, Mary, reside on a farm west of Lake Norden where Alvin has been a life-long resident of Cleveland Township. Alvin has retired from farming. Alvin and Mary have seven children and 27 grandchildren. Alvin has served on the H-D Electric Cooperative Board since being appointed October 2003 to fill the vacancy in District 9 which includes Norden, Cleveland, Garfield, and Dixon townships. Since that time he has continued his education through NRECA courses in three parts: The Credentialed Cooperative certificate, the Board Leadership certificate and has received the Director Gold Program Certificate. Alvin also serves on the Lake Norden Historical Society Museum Board and the Living History Fair Committee. Alvin enjoys being in parades and going on wagon trains with his draft horses and collecting barbed wire and barbed wire tools. He also enjoys studying family history and cultural history of the area. Alvin  said “that he appreciates the opportunity to represent the  District 9 electric consumers of H-D Electric Cooperative and would like to continue to do so.”.

Nathan Palm: Nathan is owner/operator for Nathan Palm Angus with partner Stephanie Broderson and his  children Conner and Olivia.  He has served on the Deuel County Cenex Board and Coteau Hills Cattlemen’s Board. Currently Nathan is serving on the Deuel County Weed and Pest Board.



Casper Niemann has two sons Austin and Chance. Austin lives and works in Beulah, North Dakota and is getting married in June. Chance is attending SDSU and lives at home part time. Casper lives four miles east of Lake Norden. He builds grain bins during the summer and in the winter works at Agropur Inc. in Lake Norden.  Casper has been on the Hamlin Education School Board for seven years and school board  president for 3 years.







Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Look at Load Management Status Touchstone Energy Kids ZONE Cooperative Action Network